CA Announces first featherweight event

MIAMI – May 8, 2019 –Combate Americas today announced its first-ever featherweight (145 pounds) world championship event that will headline the Mixed Martial Arts (MMA) sports franchise’s debut in the state of New Mexico,  live on television in Spanish in the U.S. on both Univision (12 a.m. ET/PT) and UDN (12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT) and in English in the U.S. and Canada on DAZN (11 p.m. ET/8 p.m. PT) from Santa Ana Star Center in Rio Rancho on Friday, June 28.

In the world championship main event and a highly-anticipated rematch, 2018 “COPA COMBATE” tournament winner Andres “The Bullet” Quintana (18-2) will square off with Bruno “Aquiles” Cannetti(8-6).

Tickets for the Combate Americas world championship event go on sale soon.

“Andres Quintana’s victory of last year’s ‘COPA COMBATE’ was nothing short of brilliant, but his fight with Bruno Cannetti during the tournament left some unfinished business on the table,” said Combate Americas CEO Campbell McLaren.  “There isn’t a better way to settle this rivalry than a rematch with the Combate Americas world title at stake.”

Fighting out of Albuquerque and originally from Roswell, N.M., the 27-year-old Quintana notched three consecutive victories in one night, including his first round (2:05) TKO (punches) of Cannetti in the semifinal stage of the tournament, to earn the coveted “COPA COMBATE” championship and accompanying, $100,000 grand prize last December 7.

The win over Buenos Aires, Argentina’s 29-year-old Cannetti, the younger brother of MMA superstarGuido “Ninja” Cannetti, came in remarkable fashion after Cannetti floored Quintana with a right hand in the first minute of the fight.